Pop a Pill and Proceed

8 Dec

My dad was supposed to have met with several doctors by now to get more information. This hasn’t happened, as they have been rescheduling and shifting around his appointments, so my mom decided to go ahead and find him a new doctor. He has a PET scan scheduled for Tuesday, as well as an appointment with a radiation oncologist and/or a radiologist. We should know more then. He’s been eating a variety of things, and now he thinks he’s paying the price, because his throat has been really sore today. He’s back on just hot tea and soup. Otherwise, he’s feeling alright.

I was supposed to have one of my medicines covered by my health insurance. Without it being covered, I most certainly cannot afford it. Not even close! But now, they’re saying there’s something wrong and they aren’t covering it for whatever reason. So my mom is going all “mama tiger” and helping me deal with the constant calls I’m having to make to see what in the world is going on. This medication (as much as I hate it) is kind of super vital, so they need to get it together so that I can get it. A new research project that needs to be started is how to make chemotherapy drugs more affordable. Also, the amount of pain I’ve been in recently is really upsetting. Something needs to be done about this. Something.

Leave a Reply

