Therapy Woes

18 May

So…I went to see this therapist last week that my psychiatrist recommended I see. I didn’t like it. The building was purple, the walls were pink, the carpet was green, and there were hummingbird things everywhere. It was a bit disorienting. I felt spaced out because of the meds, but she said stuff like “tell me about you, tell me about your childhood” like in the movies and she told me to let the little girl inside of me cry…uh…what? She said I have OCD because I wasn’t allowed to express my emotions as a child…I cried plenty as a child, and I told her this. I don’t have OCD, I’m depressed/anxious because I’m sick and lonely! I feel like she was just making stuff up as she went along. She even told me to come back into the room like she felt I wasn’t there in the room with her…what? I just didn’t like the whole thing, plus she’s super expensive, and I felt sketched out the whole time. I’m not gonna go back, plus I think the meds are working now. I don’t think I need a counselor.

6 Responses to “Therapy Woes”

  1. No`ono`o Pono May 18, 2013 at 10:38 PM #

    Yikes! All that the first time she’s meeting with you?!
    First off, I am NO professional..

    but my immediate response is, please DON’T presume meds a cure all..
    and DO continue to try seek out someone you can feel more comfortable with, to talk with/through pulling yourself out of depression..

    Talking it out DOES help.. years ago I ‘maxed’ out in the load I was carrying at work and home and while first skeptical, can honestly say just talking with the [stress] psychologist was the most productive and healing..

    AGAIN, I’m NO professional.. so please seek a professional opinion..
    Paha na Iēhowa `oe e ho`omaika`i mai, ā e mālama `oe palekana.. May the Lord Bless You and Keep You Safe

    • BcomingFree May 19, 2013 at 7:27 PM #

      I’ll try to meet with a different therapist. Thanks

  2. saunsea May 19, 2013 at 2:04 AM #

    That sounds like quite an experience.

    I think it is an all-too-common occurrence, that happens throughout many fields of work that aim to help others. People are educated to become a psychologist or therapist, and by their education they think in terms of formulas (the questions from movies) to use in their service.

    What the educated psychologist often misses, is that therapy is all about being relational with the person you are attempting to help. In human relationships there are innumerable variables that can only be addressed by being relations, compassionate, genuine, and asking the right questions not with an agenda or pre-conceived idea of what “the problem” is, but simply asking questions because the psychologist truly wants to understand who a person is, to help them see the peace, hope, and love that dwells within each human being.

    • BcomingFree May 19, 2013 at 7:29 PM #

      I didn’t really like the way she was asking everything, it wasn’t really the questions themselves, so that may be it.

  3. sensuousamberville May 19, 2013 at 7:43 AM #

    eeeeeps

    First visits often don’t go as the patient may expect. but eeeeeps.

    A first visit should be a feeling out session, getting comfortable, a background, for both parties. Concerns gathered, suggestions on how counselling can go, even how it will work. Finding out what meds the patient is on, what they have tried in the past.

    There could be some help offered as well, some suggestions made. There is a lot of information the therapist needs. A lot of effort should be made though, to establish a comfortable setting.

    I am sorry your first experience went astray. Don’t give up though. Meds can help you a lot, therapy can often replace them. Together is the best approach.

    *hugs*
    Amber

    • BcomingFree May 19, 2013 at 7:30 PM #

      Yeah, she didn’t even ask me what meds I’m on, and I never felt comfortable. Thanks

Leave a Reply

