PET Scans and Pimping

6 Jun

My dad got his PET scan today. Since Tropical Storm Andrea hit, they had a lot of bad weather, including tornadoes. This caused him to have to be evacuated from the PET scanner and sent into the main building, not once, but twice! The first time he had been in there for 20 minutes, the second time he had been in for 1 hour. How crazy!! He should get the results at his appointment in 2 weeks, but I’m hoping they call early and tell him. My mom is getting stomach cramps just thinking about it.

I went back to my research lab and was there from about 4PM to 6:30PM. We finished the MTT assay, and during the assay I got pimped! (Think: Dr. Cox on Scrubs) He was asking me a bunch of questions about the protocol and the enzymes involved, and I missed the last question. He told me that just knowing how many milliliters is not science. That I have to know all of the enzymes for all of the reactions we do in the lab. He gave me some articles to read for homework and some other things to look up, and I’ll meet him tomorrow to finish the 48 hour MTT assay. I also have a data and graphical analysis seminar tomorrow. Yay, fun!

Leave a Reply

