Gerson’s Diet

19 Jun

I saw that Gerson’s diet movie today. I’m not really sure how I feel about it. Everything just seemed so biased, because it was a sales pitch and a lot of the information was outdated. I’m not saying it was a bad idea, I mean eating fruits and vegetables and juicing is super healthy, but the way the word “cure” got thrown around so loosely made me a little uncomfortable. Even the music showed the bias. I’m willing to try…most parts of it, I’m not saying it’s bad. I don’t necessarily agree with the part about the coffee enema. Doesn’t really sound like my idea of a Friday night. The movie just left me feeling defensive and confused because of the subjectivity of it. If it were a little more objective, and stopped making it seem like everyone who does conventional treatment died from it…maybe I wouldn’t feel so conflicted. I feel like conventional medicine and alternative medicine should complement each other, not oppose each other. Just my opinion.

2 Responses to “Gerson’s Diet”

  1. Cancer Curmudgeon June 19, 2013 at 2:37 PM #

    Reblogged this on anotheronewiththecancer and commented:
    EXACTLY!

  2. Tracy June 21, 2013 at 4:12 PM #

    Balance – that’s the answer in everything as far as I can tell. If we do conventional treatment and fill ourselves full of junk during and afterwards the chances are that won’t be helpful for recovery. Similarly if we shun conventional treatment and go all out on the Gerson (or similar) chances are we’ll limit our recovery too. At the moment what we do know is that cancer seems to respond to certain conventional drugs many of which are derived from plants/trees/fungi and eating fruit and veg gives us access to salvestrols and resversatol which seem to offer some protective function at a cellular level. Personally I wouldn’t rely on one without the other.

Leave a Reply

