Hospice?

5 Jul

I have some good news. Once I talk with the nutritionist, I’m getting discharged! My heart is looking good, and since I went yesterday, and my O2 sats are up, and I took a couple of laps around the unit, they’re gonna let me go! That’s really good, that’s great, but before that, I have a meeting with my social worker, Mags, and my patient navigator to talk about the benefits of Hospice. I talked with my onc already about the possibility of stopping treatment, but it’s something I’m going to have to think about for a while. I feel like Hospice would be super beneficial, but I can also think of some people who may be kind of upset if I choose to do that. Luckily, it’s not like I’m being pressured into making any kind of decision. I can think about it for as long as I want. It’s gonna take a lot of thinking and serious conversations, so I’m gonna talk to my parents about it in person when I go home. Also, Hospice has more than just a facility that you can go to, they have home health nurses and lots of other things that I’m gonna learn about today, so there’s that.

2 Responses to “Hospice?”

  1. Cancer Curmudgeon July 5, 2013 at 11:03 AM #

    Good to hear you’re getting out

    • BcomingFree July 5, 2013 at 11:05 AM #

      Yeah, thanks. I’ve been itching to get home!

Leave a Reply

