Blood and Shingles

23 Aug

Last night I wasn’t feeling very well, so I went to sleep a little early. I woke up in the middle of the night and felt really wet. When I looked at my pillow, it looked really dark, so I turned on the light and started choking. There was bright red blood all over my pillow and I was choking on blood. It was coming from my throat and coming out of my mouth. I went to the bathroom and kind of just let it drip into the sink while I called 911. I was scared…again. Things like this keep happening. I’m wondering if that’s a really bad sign or what. So I went to the hospital, and they did a bronchoscopy. They told me that there was a ruptured vessel in my lung, and that they gave me tranexamic acid, as well as did an embolization and used a laser during the bronchoscopy. I’m not choking up blood anymore, so that’s good.

Last night, I also discovered a very painful rash on my trunk area, and I didn’t know what it was. They noticed it as well, and I was started on an antiviral medication and some medications to treat the pain, as they believe that it’s shingles. I was really hoping that it wasn’t shingles. 😦 The medication that I’m on for the purpura rash should help the shingles to not be as bad, though. I hope that’s true!

2 Responses to “Blood and Shingles”

  1. Knot Telling August 23, 2013 at 10:59 AM #

    What a night! Are you feeling any better?

    • BcomingFree August 23, 2013 at 5:45 PM #

      I feel a little better now. Just having a lot of pain :(.

Leave a Reply

