Fluid

1 Nov

My dad came and took me straight to the hospital. There was fluid building up in my lungs so I got a chest tube placed to drain it, so now I have that little bubbly thing. There was also fluid building up around my heart, so they did a pericardiocentesis to drain that. Plus to prevent more fluid from building up around my lungs, they’re gonna do a pleurodesis, which I’m pretty sure is gonna hurt. They’re basically going to intentionally scar the lining of my lungs with chemicals. I saw my mom, too. My parents were basically surprised by how bad I looked and got all emotional and stuff and it kinda freaked me out. My brother is coming with his girlfriend later. I missed him. But it’s not as hard to breathe now, I just hate being in the hospital.

4 Responses to “Fluid”

  1. Knot Telling November 1, 2013 at 8:47 PM #

    Being in the hospital sucks. But being able to breathe – that’s kind of cool, isn’t it? 😉

  2. Jennie Wright November 2, 2013 at 5:22 AM #

    The breathing part is great. Chest tubes are not much fun, and their comfort level depends on who puts them in, but it’s nice to get that pressure out of your chest. I’ve had pleurodesis myself, and can promise you that it was a huge improvement over the series of 5 chest tubes in 3 months that I went through. It hurts, but you heal and things are better. Honest and for true. 🙂

    • BcomingFree November 2, 2013 at 6:56 AM #

      Thanks, I’ve been nervous about it

Leave a Reply

